Foul Recipe with Tahini

Foul with tahini picture

Delicious with a drizzle of olive oil

Last week, I was craving foul mudammas all the time.

I had seen someone preparing it at Souk El Tayeb, and it looked so delicious. I wake up on the next Saturday with the sole intention of preparing fava beans for breakfast.

I am not really used to eating foul in the morning. We usually have it for lunch or dinner, but I love big breakfasts on weekends, so why not?!

I wanted to try a new recipe of course. I went to my beloved Atyab Tabkha and started searching for an interesting recipe, and here it was: Foul with tahini. I usually look for recipes that were added by users, without a picture, so I could add mine once I am done.

The recipe looked like hummus, but with fava beans instead: it required smashing the beans. I tried it and loved it. I did a few amendments to the quantities only and ate almost the whole thing. (I ended with some pains in my tummy and promised myself to never be greedy again…).

Now, let’s check it together!

 

Foul Recipe with Tahini

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Foul Mudammas
  • 2 tbsp Tahini
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp Salt and Black pepper
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cumin
  • Olive oil to taste
  • Water

 

Method:

  1. In a saucepan, put the fava beans and their brine. Add the cumin and enough water to cover the beans. Cook on medium fire until liquid boils then leave for 5 additional minutes on low fire.
  2. Remove from heat and smash the beans with a fork.
  3. Add the Tahini and lemon juice then season with salt and black pepper. Serve drizzled with olive oil.
One thought on “Foul Recipe with Tahini

Leave a Reply

