Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe

Indian Shrimp Curry picture

A dish like no other 🙂

Yesterday, I invited friends to an all-Indian dinner for the first time. It was a success; I barely have any leftovers for lunch today.

I prepared some recipes that I already shared with you previously: butter chicken with pulao rice, red lentil and cauliflower curry and mint raita. But I also tried a new shrimp curry that everyone loved, so I decided to share the recipe with you.

I wanted to try tikka massala shrimp – just like the one I had in house of curry restaurant in Dubai, but I ended up doing this Indian-Inspired Shrimp with Coconut, Chiles and Tomato from Food Network. I made a few changes to the original recipe, and it’s definitely a keeper. The waiter suggested back then that the tikka massala shrimp should be served with bread; and since this curry had a thick sauce just like the other one, I decided I needed some bread.

I was too tired to do it at home, so I wanted to buy some. I had two choices: either getting the ready naan bread from Spinneys, which is quite expensive (12000 LBP for 4 pieces – n ever tried it to talk about quality), or buying some from a restaurant.

I remembered that a friend got us once Indian bread from a restaurant in Dora, so I searched for it online and discovered it was called “Indo Lankan restaurant”. It’s a small not fancy at all restaurant in the crowded street of Saint Joseph, with a small grocery shop downstairs.

I just bought some chapatti bread (which was not cheap after all the reviews I read about the restaurant being the cheapest in town: 10 pieces for 7500 LBP… but yeah, I am buying from a restaurant and not a bakery).

The restaurant is interesting even though it shows that hygiene is not that much of a priority there. I am not sure I would try it, but I am sure I’ll be visiting the store. It has everything I brought with me from Dubai lately, thinking that I could not find it here: all kind of lentils, black chickpeas, ginger paste, garlic paste, curry powder…in addition to some fresh vegetables: lemongrass, lime…

Picture of Indian food

An Indian feast

Now back to our recipe, let’s check how I got this wonderful curry:

Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe

Serves: 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 finely chopped onions
  • 4 green chilies, seeded and finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp minced ginger
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes (400 g)
  • 1 can unsweetened coconut milk (400 g)
  • 1/3 cup cream
  • 750 g shrimps, peeled and deveined
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • Fresh cilantro leaves for garnishing

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a saucepan on medium fire and toast the mustard seeds and cumin until fragrant, about 2 minutes.
  2. Add the onions, chilies, ginger and garlic and sauté, stirring occasionally, until the onions are soft and slightly caramelized, about 8 to 10 minutes.
  3. Add the tomato paste to the saucepan and cook for 4 additional minutes. Pour the canned tomatoes into the pan and cook for 10 minutes, stirring from time to time.
  4. Add the coconut milk and cook on high heat for 10 additional minutes. Add the cream and cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Season the shrimp with 1 1/2 teaspoons of the salt. Add the shrimp to the pan, stirring often, and cook until curled and pink, about 5 minutes. Add the remaining salt to the sauce. Taste and adjust the seasoning.
  6. Garnish the curry with cilantro leaves and serve hot with chapatti bread or cooked rice.

Would you try this recipe? Let me know by leaving a comment in the box below!

One thought on “Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe

  1. Pingback: Indian Beef Cooked in Whole Spices – Christy's Food Rush

Leave a Reply

